Boston singer/songwriter and guitarist Reed Waddle can add another notch to his guitar strap after his Grand Prize winning performance at the New York Songwriters Circles fourth annual Songwriting Contest finale at the venerable Bitter End.

Reed’s soulful performance of his single “Piece By Piece” brought New York’s music faithful to their feet and ultimately captured the votes of the blue ribbon panel of judges assembled.

“I am so thrilled to have even be selected as a finalist,” said Reed. “To win such a prestigious contest is a dream come true and to be honest it really has not settled in yet, I am truly elated. I can’t say enough about the New York Songwriters Circle, it is rare that you meet so many amazing musicians.”

Taking home second place honors this year was another Boston-based singer/songwriter and jazz vocalist Julia Easterlin for her unique single “Go Straightaway.” Clara Olman, of Nashville, TN, secured third place for her single “Song For Ruthie,” which infused phrasing from renowned 20th century classical French composer Claude Debussy Claire de Lune.

“Reed’s performance and the way he presented his song was clean and of a very high professional caliber,” said Tina Shafer, Artistic Director for the New York Songwriters Circle and host of the contest. “He completely impressed everyone with his smooth voice and is definitely ready to breakout into the mainstream.”

The NYSC is also proud to announce that Ida Østergaard from Copenhagen, Denmark, is the 2009 recipient of its prestigious “International Writers Award.”

The twelve Songwriting Contest finalists were: Barnaby Bright – “Gravity,” Kate Branagh – “Tether,” Caleb Hawley – “Other Side Of It All,” Clara Oman – “Song for Ruthie,” Janet Onyenucheya – “The Element,” Adrien Reju – “When The Curtain Falls,” Martin Rivas – “North,” Bobby Smith – “The Breakup Song,” Chloe Temtchine – “Four Letter Fever,” Justin Tracy – “Secrets,” The Sweet Remains — "Easy," Reed Waddle – “Piece By Piece.”

“Every year we are truly amazed by the incredible songs that are submitted and the stories that inspired them,” said accomplished singer/songwriter and President of the New York Songwriter’s Circle, Tina Shafer. “We are very fortunate to have such an outstanding panel of judges to assist in the process and work with us to help launch the careers of artists who deserve to be recognized.”

The NYSC continues to attract esteemed members of the music and entertainment industry to serve as its judges. This years panel includes: Grammy Award winning songwriter/producer/legendary rock performer John Oates, Grammy Award winning producer Russ Titelman (Eric Clapton, James Taylor, Chaka Khan, Cindi Lauper and Ricki Lee Jones to names a few), Q104.3 Radio’s Jonathan Clarke, Hit Songwriter Allan Merrill (“I Love Rock and Roll”) and many more. The New York Songwriters Circle has been at the forefront of the songwriting world for over 19 years. In 2008, the New York Songwriters Circle expanded its live music showcase events beyond New York (“The Bitter End”) to included Philadelphia (“World Café Live!”), Boston (“Johnny D’s” and Berklee College of Music’s “Café 939”), and most recently announced openings in Chicago and Los Angeles.

Originally posted 2009-11-24 17:58:45.